Until when ?

2021 June

Videotaping police in flagranti

A minor at the age of 15 years, Tunis

As demonstrations erupted in the capital following an episode of police aggression, police intervened violently to disperse the protesters. Among them was a young boy of 15-years, who was grabbed by police officers in the street, forcefully undressed and kicked and beaten before being loaded into a police van. Videos of the scene caused a wave of outrage, forcing the Ministry of the Interior to react by suspending the perpetrators. A judicial investigation is ongoing and the outcome remains uncertain.
See more
May

Beaten-up for ending a relationship

Nejma*, 25 years old, Central West Tunisia

Nejma was engaged to a police officer, but the relationship turned sour and she decided to separate. That is when the nightmare began. Abusing the powers of his position as police officer, the ex-fiancé began to threaten and harass Nejma until eventually physically assaulting her with the complicit support of his colleagues.
See more
April

Tortured for refusing to bribe …

Oussama*, 34 years old, Tunis

In April 2021, Oussama was arrested in the street by police officers from his neighborhood, who had repeatedly robbed him and whom he had recently refused to pay. They beat him up in the street, then took him to the closest police station, where they continued to beat him up badly and threatened to falsely accuse him of drug trafficking. He was finally released after the arrival of the chief of the brigade, but only after promising not to file a complaint against the officers. Oussama is one of the many victims of ordinary police violence carried out by officers for punitive purposes.
See more
March

Neglected to death..

Abdesslam, 30 years old, Sfax

Abdesslam was arrested after curfew on the night of February 28, 2021. Being diabetic, his health deteriorated rapidly while in police custody. On March 2, he was remanded in Thyna prison. The next day, his condition was such that he had to be transferred to the hospital. He died on the way, because of repeated neglect. Abdesslam's case is one of 16 cases of suspicious deaths in detention documented by SANAD since 2014. Victims died in circumstances still unresolved during detention or as a result of contact with security forces.
See more
February

Ordinary violence …

Issam*, 26 years old, Tunis

One night in February 2021, while Issam was in front of his house, a security patrol stopped to check his papers. When he took out his identity card, he was surprised by punches on the head and eyes and kicks. He was sprayed with tear gas. The officers forced their way into his home and assaulted his elderly mother.
See more
January

Tortured to confess

Hafid*, 37 years old, Center-West of Tunisia

In January 2021, Hafid, an activist, was arrested at his home in the middle of the night without an arrest warrant. He was severely assaulted at the time of his arrest, and was later tortured at the police station and forced to sign statements accusing him of inciting protests, among other things. Like him, hundreds of young Tunisians were arrested in January in response to the wave of protests that hit the country. Many were beaten while arrested and held in police custody without the assistance of a lawyer, then remanded in custody and sentenced on the basis of falsified reports or for minor infractions.
See more
2020 December

Kidnapped and aggressed for defending the right to equality

Ahmed*, 28 years old, Tunis

On December 22, 2020, a group of plainclothes police officers kidnapped Ahmed, an activist of the association DAMJ, from a street in Tunis. The officers loaded him into their car and drove around the city. During the journey, they slapped him, punched him on the head, kicked him in the rib cage and kidneys and scratched his face. While beating him, the agents questioned him about the activities of DAMJ and the identity of other activists of the association. Then they threw him out of the car close to the military hospital.
See more
November

Police control turning into nightmare

Walid*, 26 years old, Zaghouan

In November 2020, Walid was walking down the street in the governorate of Zaghouan when he passed by a police patrol. The officers stopped him and tried to search his bag. Walid was afraid and tried to run away. The officers chased him. When they caught up with him, they beat and kicked him in front of passers-by. Walid was dragged a long distance to the police car. Near the car, the officers slapped him so hard that he fell on the ground. Then the officers took him to the police station.
See more
October

Violated and harassed for campaigning for human rights

Seif, 23 years old, Tunis

In October 2020, police arrested Seif, an activist from the civil society organization DAMJ following his participation in demonstrations against the draft law on the protection of security forces. He was arrested without any legal basis, taken into police custody and denied his right to a lawyer. At the police station, Seif was subjected to violence for nearly 3 hours by the security agents. This resulted in a broken shoulder and injuries to his eye and leg.
See more
September

Migrants arbitrarily detained in the center of Tunis

22 migrants – Center El Ouardia

In September 2020, the Ministry of the Interior released 22 migrants arbitrarily detained at the Center El Ouardia. They had spent months detained without any legal basis, in a place that was not officially a detention center. In June 2020, they appealed to the administrative court to contest their arbitrary detention. An innovative appeal that was successful even though the Ministry of the Interior was slow to release them. Despite this, since then, new migrants have been detained in El Ouardia and they too have been victims of the ill-treatment inherent to the arbitrary nature of their detention.
See more
August

Torture as punishment

Fouad, 34 years old – South-East of Tunisia

In August 2020, Fouad was assaulted in a prison where he had been held on remand for a few months already. The guards beat him and left him handcuffed at the door of the cell for the entire night. A few months earlier, he had already been tortured by several guards in the same prison after an argument with one of them. If the cases of torture in prison are less numerous than before the revolution, they have not totally disappeared and the victims' quest for justice is all the more perilous as they are still in the hands of their perpatrators.
See more
July

“Today I will make you remove that niqab! “

Amal, 30 years old, Great Tunis

In July 2020, Amal found the courage to take her case to the administrative court to denounce more than 10 years of police harassment due to her being registered “fichée”. Searches, street arrests, home visits, summonses to the police station and humiliating interrogations have made her life and that of her family a nightmare. Amal is one of the thousands of people "listed as S", who are subjected to arbitrary administrative control measures by the police, with dramatic psychological, social and economic consequences.
See more
End

Jusqu'à quand ?

2021 Juin

La police filmée en pleine action

Un mineur de 15 ans, Tunis

Alors que des manifestations secouaient la capitale à la suite d’un épisode d’agression policière, la police est intervenue avec violence pour disperser les protestataires. Parmi eux, un jeune de 15 ans, a été attrapé par des policiers dans la rue, déshabillé de force puis roué de coups de pieds avant d’être embarqué dans un fourgon de police. Des vidéos de la scène ont provoqué une vague d’indignation forçant le ministère de l’Intérieur à réagir en suspendant les auteurs. Une enquête judiciaire est en cours, à l’issue incertaine. Ce cas ne laisse pas oublier les centaines d’autres victimes de violences policières, non filmées, qui n’obtiendront certainement jamais justice.
Voir plus
Mai

Rouée de coups pour une rupture

Nejma*, 25 ans, Centre-Ouest de la Tunisie

Nejma a été fiancée à un agent de police, mais la relation a mal tourné et elle y a mis fin. C’est alors que son cauchemar a commencé. Abusant des pouvoirs conférés par sa fonction, son ex-fiancé a commencé à la menacer et la harceler jusqu’à finir par l’agresser physiquement avec le soutien complice de ses collègues.
Voir plus
Avril

Torturé pour avoir refusé de bakchicher

Oussama*, 34 ans, Tunis

En avril 2021, Oussama a été arrêté en pleine rue par des agents de police de son quartier qui l’avaient racketté à plusieurs reprises et qu’il avait récemment refusé de payer. Ils l’ont roué de coups dans la rue, puis l’ont embarqué au poste de proximité où ils l’ont de nouveau battu très violemment et l’ont menacé de l’accuser faussement de trafic de drogue. Il a finalement été libéré après l’arrivée du chef de la brigade, mais seulement après avoir promis de ne pas porter plainte contre les agents. Oussama est une des très nombreuses victimes de la violence policière ordinaire exercée de façon décomplexée par des agents à des fins punitives.
Voir plus
Mars

Négligé jusqu’à la mort

Abdesslam, 30 ans, Sfax

Abdesslam a été arrêté après le couvre-feu dans la nuit du 28 février. Il est diabétique et son état de santé n’a cessé de se détériorer pendant sa garde à vue. Le 2 mars, il a été placé en détention provisoire à la prison de Thyna. Le lendemain, son état était tel qu’il a dû être transféré à l’hôpital. Il est mort pendant le trajet, victime de négligences en série. Le cas d’Abdesslam est un des 16 cas documentés par SANAD depuis 2014 dans lesquels les victimes sont mortes dans des circonstances toujours non élucidées au cours de leur détention ou à la suite d’un contact avec la police.
Voir plus
Février

Chronique d’une violence ordinaire

Issam*, 26 ans, Tunis

Une nuit de février 2021, alors qu’Issam se trouvait devant chez lui, une patrouille sécuritaire s’est arrêtée pour le contrôler. Quand il a sorti sa carte d’identité, il a été surpris par des coups de poings sur la tête et les yeux et des coups de pieds. Il a été aspergé de gaz lacrymogène. Les agents sont entrés de force chez lui et ont agressé sa mère âgée.
Voir plus
Janvier

Un activiste torturé jusqu’aux aveux

Hafid, 37 ans, Centre-Ouest de la Tunisie

En janvier 2021, Mohamed, un activiste, a été arrêté chez lui en pleine nuit, sans mandat. Violemment agressé au moment de son arrestation, il a ensuite été torturé au poste de police et forcé de signer des procès-verbaux l’accusant notamment d’incitation à participer à des manifestations. Comme lui, des centaines de jeunes tunisiens ont été arrêtés en janvier en réponse à la vague de protestation qui a secoué le pays. Beaucoup ont été violentés pendant leur arrestation et leur garde à vue sans assistance d’un avocat, puis placés en détention provisoire et condamnés sur la base de procès-verbaux falsifiés ou pour des infractions mineures.
Voir plus
2020 Décembre

Kidnappé et agressé pour sa défense des droits des LGBTIQ++

Ahmed, 28 ans, Tunis

Le 22 décembre 2020, un groupe de policiers en civil ont kidnappé Ahmed, un militant de l’association DAMJ, dans la rue à Tunis. Les agents l’ont embarqué dans leur voiture et ont circulé dans la ville. Pendant le trajet, ils l’ont giflé, lui ont donné des coups de poings sur la tête, des coups de pieds sur la cage thoracique et les reins et l’ont griffé au niveau du visage. Tout en le tabassant, les agents l’ont interrogé sur les activités de DAMJ et l’identité des autres activistes de l’association. Puis ils l’ont jeté de la voiture près de l’hôpital militaire.
Voir plus
Novembre

Un contrôle policier qui tourne au cauchemar

Walid*, 26 ans, Zaghouan

En novembre 2020, Walid marchait dans la rue dans le gouvernorat de Zaghouan lorsqu’il est passé à proximité d’une patrouille de police. Les agents l’ont arrêté et ont voulu fouiller son sac. Walid a eu peur et a tenté de s’enfuir. Les agents l’ont poursuivi. Lorsqu’ils l’ont rattrapé, ils l’ont roué de coups de poings et de pieds devant les passants. Walid a été trainé sur une longue distance jusqu’à la voiture de police. Près de la voiture, les agents l’ont giflé au point qu’il est tombé par terre. Puis les agents l’ont emmené au poste.
Voir plus
Octobre

Violenté et harcelé pour avoir milité pour les droits de l’homme

Seif, 23 ans, Tunis

En octobre 2020, les forces de l’ordre ont arrêté Seif, militant de l’association DAMJ à la suite de sa participation aux manifestations contre le projet de loi relatif à la protection des forces de sécurité. Interpellé sans fondement juridique, il a ensuite été placé en garde à vue et privé de son droit d’être assisté d’un avocat. Au poste, Seif a subi des violences de la part des agents pendant près de 3 heures. Il en est résulté une fracture à l’épaule et des blessures à l’œil et à la jambe.
Voir plus
Septembre

Un centre de détention arbitraire en plein Tunis

22 migrants – centre d’El Ouardia

En septembre 2020, le ministère de l’Intérieur a libéré 22 migrants détenus arbitrairement au centre d’hébergement d’El Ouardia. Ils ont passé des mois détenus sans fondement juridique, dans un lieu qui n’est pas officiellement un centre de détention. En juin 2020, ils ont saisi le tribunal administratif pour contester leur détention arbitraire. Un recours novateur qui a été couronné de succès même si le ministère de l’Intérieur a tardé à les libérer. Malgré cela, depuis, de nouveaux migrants ont été placés en détention à El Ouardia et victimes eux aussi des mauvais traitements inhérents à l’arbitraire de leur détention.
Voir plus
Août

La torture comme punition

Fouad, 34 ans – Sud-Est de la Tunisie

En août 2020, Fouad a été agressé au sein d’une prison où il avait été placé en détention provisoire quelques mois plus tôt. Les gardiens l’ont roué de coups puis l’ont laissé, toute la nuit, menotté à la porte de la chambre. Quelques mois plus tôt, il avait déjà été torturé par plusieurs gardiens au sein de la même prison après s’être disputé avec l’un d’eux. Si les cas de torture en prison sont moins nombreux qu’avant la révolution, elle n’a pas totalement disparu et la quête de justice des victimes est d’autant plus périlleuse qu’elles sont toujours aux mains de leurs agresseurs.
Voir plus
Juillet

« Aujourd’hui, je vais tout faire pour que tu enlèves ce niqab ! »

Amal*, 30 ans, Grand Tunis

En juillet 2020, Amal a trouvé le courage de saisir le tribunal administratif pour dénoncer plus de 10 ans de harcèlement policier subi en raison de son fichage. Les perquisitions, interpellations dans la rue, visites domiciliaires, convocations au poste de police et interrogatoires humiliants ont fait de sa vie et de celle de sa famille un enfer. Amal est une des milliers de personnes « fichées S » auxquelles la police inflige des mesures de contrôle administratif arbitraires aux conséquences psychologiques, sociales et économiques dramatiques.
Voir plus
Fin